PDA

View Full Version : Own child scared of mindee - any coming back from this?

Clementine
22-05-2014, 05:43 PM
I have been minding this child (aged 2) for about 9 months now. The last four or five months he has been steadily getting more and more aggressive, hitting and often biting. I believe the cause is a combination of over-tiredness (he point blank refuses naps no matter what I try), teething and over excitement - it doesn't seem to be malicious, although he doesn't like boundaries at all and gets quite cross when told he can't do/have something. His parents are very loving and gentle (although quite permissive) and he has been hitting all of the children I mind indiscriminately (even a baby), and hitting and biting at groups with his mum, so it's not isolated to just with me. I'm working on changing this, although it is clear that it is not a quick phase, and it really comes out of the blue when he lashes out. Even when I am right there, it seems to come out of nowhere, and he will hit out when a moment before all the children were playing happily. The trouble is, my child and another of the mindees have become quite scared of this boy, and even though he is sweet 80% of the time, they find it hard to let their guard down as they are afraid he will hit or bite. This has lead to them ostrasicing him and leaving him out of their play, which in turn leads to more aggression. A bit of a downwards spiral.

I have spoken to mum about needing to put in place some consistent boundaries and reactions for when he hits or bites, but my child (aged 3) has decided (understandably) that this little boy is unkind and scary, and keeps asking me to tell him not to come anymore. I don't know if I am wasting my time, and it is important to me that my LO feels safe at home. Also, my LO has started hitting or pushing him out of fear whenever he approaches, which is a big concern to me as this has never happened before and I don't want it to become normal or a habit.