PDA

View Full Version : My First Day (Only 3.5hrs) Was chaotic - HELP ME!!!

abzbargs
12-05-2014, 01:06 PM
So I've been childminding for about 8 months but it's only very part time, just a little 4 yr old before and after nursery a couple of times a week. We've had organised craft activities or baking most of the time and she's very happy playing with my 5 yr old.

Today I had an 18mnth old and 4 yr old siblings start. They are here 3.5 hrs every day until Friday, then 7 hrs a day next week. Lots of things went well today, the lo cried for a minute when mummy left, then was perfectly happy and settled. He also took his nap at his usual time and slept like a contented little log. The eldest was also having a great time. The problem I have is that the eldest pulls everything out, plays with it for a minute, then moves on. My kitchen was covered in Arts & Craft stuff, which he picked, then played with for about 5 mins. I was then trying to quickly clean stuff from the kitchen table for snack time whilst at the same time chasing the littlest one around to ensure he didn't come to any harm.

So I really think I have to plan to be more organised for tomorrow. I have lots of toys out because I wanted to see what they children liked.... I'm now wondering if it's all a bit overwhelming for them? I was thinking I should do 'house rules' with the big one tomorrow. THis will include tidying a toy away before moving on to another etc. Was also thinking of printing off some routine pictures eg music time; reading time; pretend play etc and getting them to stick the pictures on to some card stars and let them pick a picture to structure their time here.

Lastly, I think I need to be a little firmer. I just want them to be happy though and don't want to appear like a Hitler. Any hints/tips/advice greatly appreciated PLEASE :-)

tess1981
12-05-2014, 01:10 PM