PDA

View Full Version : How do you cope having OH around?!

buzzy bee
06-05-2014, 04:04 PM
My OH has just started a new job and is around more in the day and we're struggling!

The trouble is I work 5 days a week (mon-fri) and so does he but sometimes he works weekends, so his 2 days off are often when I'm working.

I think he's struggling with the noise and chaos (and in particular being around our own children more because they are quite demanding of his time)

Also I feel like when I do a job e.g. go to the kitchen to do dinner, or sit down at the laptop to do my accounts or something, I feel like I'm leaving him to take care of the kids which is unfair to him. When in actual fact I'd be doing those things if he wasn't there and the kids would just be getting on with it and playing happily on there own. So I'm not technically leaving him to take care of them - I think he just feels that way.

Every now and then when our own kids are climbing on him or keep nagging at him he'll get frustrated with me and tell me he's going upstairs or tell me I need to help him or sort it out... and I feel like this is unfair because if it was a weekend it would just be us and he wouldn't be leaving me on my own with them.

We're basically both finding it hard and I'm wondering how other people deal with it.

I don't really want him to do his own thing on his days off because then we'll hardly see each other and he'll hardly see our kids.

Any advice very welcome!

smurfette
06-05-2014, 04:19 PM