PDA

View Full Version : Sensory play

littleDs31
23-04-2014, 09:05 AM
Am about to do spaghetti sensory play. It's my first time with babies (9mth &14mth).imam stripping them to their vests and placing a tub of spaghetti between them and giving them a wooden spoon each. I can't think of any other way to do it, anyone any ideas or advice?

Maza
23-04-2014, 09:15 AM
Sounds fab! They will probably want to use their hands so have wipes/cloth close by. I would put a mat down on the floor too! Does the tub have deep sides? Will they be able to see into it? If not you might want to put it on a plate/shallow dish. You could give them some containers to drop the spaghetti into. Just watch what they do and add to it/take away as you go along. Some children would play with it for ages, some just a few seconds and some might not like it at all! Good luck, I love observing sensory play! x

FloraDora
23-04-2014, 12:49 PM
I have seen lots of blogs about sensory play and spaghetti which do exactly what you are proposing so I expect it will go well. Enjoy.

I am going to stick my neck out here though and say that I feel a little uncomfortable when I see food used just for play...I worked for a number of years in an area of some deprivation where children often went hungry at the weekends, where I was giving out vouchers for food banks daily, you just need to read Jak Munroe's blog and introduction in her cookbook, 'A girl called Jak ' to get an insight into what real poverty is like.

I think the spaghetti and pasta experience can be gained whilst eating it.