PDA

View Full Version : Should you ALWAYS go with your instinct..?

LittleStars
24-07-2008, 05:41 PM
Hi,

Im a newbie here but have been childminding for a while.

Im recruiting for September as I had 2 of my littlies move away and had a family come to see me last week. The child was gorgeous and I chatted happily to the mum who seemed really really lovely. Dad came to see me a few days later and all was fine. They asked me to have the LO full time from Oct and are coming to sign contracts tomorrow. I was delighted.

The trouble is I have a niggle....you know one of those ones that wont quite go away..its really silly but while I was talking to the mum on the phone a few days ago and we were talking about her nanny (they currently have a well loved nanny who has to leave for family reasons) and I suggested she talk with the nanny before comitting to a start date with me, as nanny may need to look for other work etc. She said " My nanny will do as I tell her to do, we are paying her and she will do as she is told" it was said with real 'malice' too not in a jokey kind of way.... Arghhhhh Its just niggling in the back of my mind...Im a great childminder..but Im very much self employed! We have a hectic and full schedule and I guess Im concerned that she is going to expect me to 'do as Im told!'

Im normally very much a go on your instincts girl...but this will be my only full timer and considerable chunk of my income.

Should I forget about it? Or should I reiterate how I work when she comes to sign contracts tomorrow?

They really did all seem very nice.....

LS

Pudding Girl
24-07-2008, 05:49 PM
Give it a go - at the end of the day the Nanny has to do as she is told doesn't she - I am sure they know that you don't - esp if you make that very very clear next time you see them, maybe broach the subject by saying "oh I couldn't be a Nanny I like being my own boss and running my own business too much" etc