PDA

View Full Version : visit from the tax man

mimo
24-07-2008, 02:07 PM
just wondering has anyone actually had a visit from the tax man or been questioned on their expenses. I have been childminding for 8 years and never been asked for my books .Has anyone else ??????

sarah707
24-07-2008, 02:14 PM
Don't want to tempt fate... but no!

Noodles
24-07-2008, 02:20 PM
Dont think they are interested in small fry like us as long as we dont put the new 42inch lcd and aston martin on our expenses :) :). They tend to go for the higher earners but then again my oh and my mum both work for HMRC and say they do have times when they look into certain trades and jobs e.g taxi drivers get looked at a lot.

mimo
24-07-2008, 02:22 PM
i remember years ago a lady came out to advise us on items we could claim for and she seemed to think they didnt bother with childminders unles you tried to claim back 75% as expenses.She advised claiming 50% then you would be fine .I think they may be in cahoots with ofsted and the estate agencies to give us more paper work to file to make us move to bigger houses to file it all:laughing:

Pauline
24-07-2008, 03:20 PM
Minder friend of mine did, about 15 years ago - went through every receipt and piece of paper!! :eek:

mimo
24-07-2008, 03:27 PM
Thats scarey gosh imagine the nightmere scienario ofsted an the tax man turning up on the same da:eek: :eek: :eek:
Mind you they might get on well and leave us alone :laughing:
I am going to have nightmeres now!!!

jaz
24-07-2008, 04:06 PM
Thats scarey gosh imagine the nightmere scienario ofsted an the tax man turning up on the same da:eek: :eek: :eek:

If you are trying to scare me, you have fully succeeded!!!!

J
x

miffy
24-07-2008, 04:28 PM
I do know minders who have been asked to produce their books/receipts so beware :laughing:

Miffy xx

Alibali
24-07-2008, 06:34 PM