PDA

View Full Version : Any information greatly received. Wanting to become a childminder, where to start???

Lisa_b
07-04-2014, 01:44 PM
Hi all,

I am new to this website and forum.

I have 7 years experience working in a private day nursery, with children aged 3 months to 5 years. During that period I gained my NVQ level 4 in childcare and worked in a supervisory position. I am very familiar with the EYFS and how it is implemented in a nursery setting.

The last year I have been working in a children's residential care setting with teenagers, but now I am pregnant with my first child I am very interested in becoming a child minder so I can work and look after my own child at the same time. Has anyone else done this before?

I would appreciate any help or information on where to start the process of becoming a childminder, what is required, costs and earnings and any general information.

Currently being pregnant it is not something I can do immediately, but would ideally like to gather as much information and start the process so I could be registered and running from when my maternity leave runs out after having my child.

Thank you in advance to any one out there who can help.

Lisa

karen2010
07-04-2014, 06:52 PM
Hi Lisa,
I have been childminding a year.
Wanted to care for my own daughter(9) and also love kids so seemed ideal for me.
My starting point was my local council. I did my training with them and have an excellent childcare support worker who is always on hand if I need any help.
The training process takes AGES so start as early as you can! I started my training in Oct and didnt get my first kids until the following May x
Read EVERYTHING on this forum especially about fees etc as I made so many mistakes re:charges that I wouldnt have made had I discovered this forum earlier!