PDA

View Full Version : Level 3 - from home?

NinkyNonk
12-03-2014, 02:37 PM
Hi all, I'm in the process of registering to become a childminder and want to do my Level 3. I'd prefer to do this from home so I've been searching around but am completely confused now!

Has anyone else done this or can you recommend a reputable company that offers a recognised qualification? There seems to be so many people online saying they're a scam and not worth it etc.

Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

tulip0803
12-03-2014, 02:41 PM
Pacey definitely do one.

If you have any remnants of a Family Information Service for you area they may have info of good ones.

You do have to be careful as some companies have been doing "lvl3" courses that are not actually recognised or at lvl3 standard

shortstuff
12-03-2014, 02:43 PM
I am currently studying my level 3 and a bulk of it is from home but I attend classes about once a month? although it isnt compulsory. Mine is through PACEY.

I also know Rick who is a mod on the forum has done his entirely from home and Im sure he will be on later to let you know the details.

NinkyNonk
12-03-2014, 02:48 PM
Great, thank you...I'll have a look and hopefully will get some more info later too.

I had considered going to college but with starting childminding at the same time I think I may be putting too much on myself at the same time! I'm thinking if I can limit myself on numbers/days I can still earn a little but be able to give time to studying too. That's the plan anyway. ;-)

AliceK
13-03-2014, 06:03 PM
You may want to hold on for a few months (Sept I believe) for the EYE which will be the latest and newer one they are bringing out.

xxxxx

Simona
14-03-2014, 11:57 PM
Yes...keep your eye open for the EYE due to start Sept...there will be more news on this as many training providers will be preparing for this
This course requires a GCSE in maths and English...this is very much the hot topic debated at present and there will be more info out soon