PDA

View Full Version : Do you....

Georgiepoo
09-03-2014, 09:38 PM
It's. I'm new to all this and just compiling contract and putting together my consent forms before Ofsted. I wanted to know do any of you take children out and about say into town, to tesco, to visit friends with other children? Day to day things that you would do with your own child???

moggy
09-03-2014, 09:47 PM
Yes, we do all that. Depends on the children though and what they are happy doing. All has to be risk assessed and get prior permission from parents for outings. I tell parents these are the kind of things we do. There is lots of learning to do out at the shops and socializing with friends and their children. Parents choose a CM because they want 'home-from-home' so they are usually happy for their children to be doing normal home-type things. Whether you'd be wanting to take 3 toddlers to Tesco's, though, is another thing...!

tulip0803
09-03-2014, 09:48 PM
I take children into town sometimes, Tesco sometimes - they are good learning experiences. I don't do it every week though.

I don't take children to visit friends at their houses - I meet up with other parents and children/childminders at local groups.

I take children to the library/ library van to choose books, we go to the park, we go to the beach, we go for walks in the woods, we go to the museums, we go to castles

Don't forget that you need to follow EYFS and providing an early education for children so you need to be able to show that the activities you do are for the benefit of the children. You need to risk assess your outings as to ensure that places you take children you are able to keep them safe.

tess1981
10-03-2014, 07:51 AM
I take children into town as well. We go to yes content as I feel children need the normality of a home environment. We . could you things into the trolley colours etc so they are learning.