PDA

View Full Version : 2yr olds parents wont let him walk

amyp
07-03-2014, 06:43 PM
They want him in a push chair on all outings- how would you approach this?

lisbet
07-03-2014, 06:49 PM
Are they maybe anxious about his safety out in the 'big wide world' without them and so want him cocooned in a pushchair?

If so, would taking the pushchair, but letting the LO walk on reins for part of the time ease the parents into it?

Or could you approach it from the 'promoting a healthy lifestyle' angle?

Hope you can get to the bottom of it and find a solution that you're all happy with x

Mouse
07-03-2014, 06:52 PM
I would have to find out why they wanted him in a pushchair all the time.

If it's a worry about his safety, maybe suggest you put him on reins when you are out?

AliceK
07-03-2014, 06:59 PM
I would just be quite blunt and say that at that age there are times when I would usually let a 2yr old walk safely with me. I'm not very good with tact when it comes to silly requests I'm afraid.

xxxx

amyp
07-03-2014, 07:13 PM
Day one we walked to the park on reins- he was great. I told the parents and they looked like I had cut off his legs- then later came back to me to say i mustn't take him out unless he is in the push chair. I'll work on them!

SYLVIA
07-03-2014, 07:24 PM
I would be asking for a very good reason why. At the age of 2 I'm looking for mindees to be walking quite a bit really. It's good for them and they have to start learning new boundaries about being out in the big wide world.

kellib
07-03-2014, 07:25 PM
Are they planning on sending LO to school in a pushchair?!

I have a 2 year old mindee who I get walking as much as possible, she behaves impeccably when we are out and never once moans about walking, unlike my older mindees!