PDA

View Full Version : Own children's LJ?

appletart88
04-03-2014, 07:29 PM
Hi, this is probably a stupid question but when I'm registered do I need to do my own child a learning journal?
TIA

maisiemog
04-03-2014, 07:37 PM
No. However I always did one as it's a nice keepsake and I could show hers to parents who visited without breaking confidentiality

cupcakencookie
04-03-2014, 07:38 PM
Not a stupid question at all and one I've often wondered about so will watch with interest. I don't think you need to and I never have done because as far as I'm concerned I am my children's Mum not their childminder! I think even if it was a requirement I would really dig my heels in about this as I refuse to let Ofsted or any paperwork detract from the sheer joy of being a parent. Will be interested to hear what everyone else has to say about it as I'm a relative newbie only having been minding for a year.

Kaybeaa
04-03-2014, 07:39 PM
No you only need to do an LJ for minded children in the EYFS.

Although when I had my last inspection the inspector asked me if I had one for my own son. I panicked and said I didn't thinking suddenly the rules had changed and I was meant to do one but she said I didn't need to, it's just a nice thing to have. You are expected to know where your own children are in terms of L&D though

appletart88
04-03-2014, 09:03 PM
Thank you! I think I will start one for these exact reasons, although I won't panic if it's not up to date as long as the others are :-)

No. However I always did one as it's a nice keepsake and I could show hers to parents who visited without breaking confidentiality

hectors house
05-03-2014, 07:54 AM
I have my grandson one day a week - I don't charge but I still try to do a LJ for him although when I am falling behind with paperwork it is his LJ that suffers. I have decided now that I don't do my LJ for Ofsted but for the child and the parents.

munch149
05-03-2014, 09:24 AM