PDA

View Full Version : Holiday pay

EmiB
24-02-2014, 08:29 AM
I am just starting out I have a first visit coming up and trying to get everything in order! When it comes to holidays I have heard that you can charge when parent takes holiday but don't charge when you as childminder takes holiday....does anyone do this? Any advice/tips would be much appreciated!

FussyElmo
24-02-2014, 11:50 AM
Its entirely down to you.

There is no right or wrong way :)

Some cms charge full for parent holiday and nothing for theirs.
Some charge full for both parents and cm holidays.
Some charge half price for both.

tess1981
24-02-2014, 12:25 PM
I charge full fee for my holidays 26 days per year and if parents take different holidays it is full fee also.
my holidays are the same every year... one week in july one in august 2 at christmas 2 days at easter st. patricks day and the bank holidays in may..

i work hard all year and dont feel guilty any more taking paid holidays... although fees in N.Ireland are alot lower than England... most childminders over here get paid holidays its the norm

what ever you feel comfortable with but parents may end up taking extra holidays (while really granny has child) to save paying you so bear that in mind
if you are not charging for holidays set a limit of days for parents eg 10 days in the year or 15... its 2-3 weeks

loocyloo
24-02-2014, 02:39 PM
I charge if I am available to work, and I don't charge if I am on holiday! I generally give out a list of my holiday dates in the January - usually a week around Easter, 2 weeks start of august and a week around Christmas & new year. plus I take a few other days as and when needed. ( I give as much notice as possible of these )