PDA

View Full Version : What do you do when mindees are not interested in activities youve planned?

line6
20-02-2014, 05:51 PM
Im still new to childminding and I'm after some advice from all of you out there. I currently look after siblings aged 2 3/4 and 4 1/2. I also have my own children aged 9, 7 and 3 3/4 so this week it's been a. Bit of a range of ages to amuse. Try as I might to engage the children all they really want to do is free play or run around the house when we are at home. Today I even struggled with getting me outside when the rain stopped and I am so conscious about getting some fresh air every day. I try to find tasks that they will all enjoy and they do for a short while but literally have no attention span (mindees and my little one) after a few minutes which makes these long no-school-run days really exhausting trying to keep everyone entertained. Had planned to go out this morning but it got rained off and we can't go out in the afternoon as littlest mindee sleeps. Yet are all quite happy to do this and that and amuse themselves but I feel like I should do more structured things sometimes. What do you all do?

tess1981
20-02-2014, 06:06 PM
i find some days the children cant get enough activites to do and others they dont want to do anything
maybe due to less routine (ie school and school runs) during half term they could be taking advantage of being able to do stuff
at their own pace... on days like these i go with the flow.. i dont plan activities and if they ask for one i set it up if not then i dont stress
leaves for a much happier house hold

Mouse
20-02-2014, 06:08 PM
My mindees mainly free play, with the odd activity thrown in.

You really don't need to trying to fill all their time with structured activities - you'll end up disappointed, frustrated and exhausted.