PDA

View Full Version : I just fell for the line..... What a mug!

Aunty vanna
31-01-2014, 12:44 PM
As you know I'm a newbie and slowly but surely getting the hang of things.
I had a lovely lady ring making and enquiry for her child. Some of our discussion made alarm bells ring in my head but nevertheless I did try to be genuinely helpful. She is having real difficulties finding care. As it turns out I can't accommodate all of her request but she seemed really eager to take what I could. I offered to ask around for her and she said she would also look around for better options. (Sorry for the waffle) I asked around and have been told that the child in question is a nightmare and I should not do it.
I'm dreading her getting back to me now!!!
Would be very grateful of advice I know if pushed I will back down as I'm too soft!

miffy
31-01-2014, 12:54 PM
Personally I'd meet mum and child and make your own mind up.

If you want to give it a go then have a few sessions over a trial period before you commit to a full contract.

Miffy xx

loocyloo
31-01-2014, 12:54 PM
meet with mum and have an honest discussion with her (but don't tell her you have been told child is a nightmare, but try and ask 'leading' questions, such as why she is looking for (new?) childcare, any concerns/issues she has about her child etc )

some children are nightmares for some people and fine with others. your setting might be the best thing ever for this child ( it might not be too! so if you don't think its for you, then don't be afraid to say no )