PDA

View Full Version : over 8's whilst training?

shelli1987
20-01-2014, 04:19 PM
Hi, im new to all of this but I’ve recently decided to start training to become a registered chidminder. I rent a lovely big 3 bed house with a large garden & my lanlord has agreed to let me run a childminding business from home.

I have sent off booking forms for first set of training with my local council in just over a months’ time. I am fully aware it can take 8-10 month sometimes longer before i will become fully registered ( i am hoping to start 1st January 2015 as it also gives me time to sort my house out i want to turn my conservatory/second living room into a play room & finish redecorating the house.

I have looking on Ofsteds website and apparently you don’t need to be registered to mind over 8 year olds & any under 8's as long as its no longer than 2 hours a day.
i was thinking of offering a before & after school care whilst I’m training as i have a 8 year old & do a school run daily. i could also possibly mind an under 8 f its no more than 2 hours per day too.

Does anyone know if there’s any restrictions on doing this? ie can i only look after 1 child under 8 for upto 2 hours per day or could i have 2 or 3 as long as its no longer than 2 hours per day?

Has anyone else done this?

I am fully crb checked & have a forms to prove to parents i have done a first aid course for my last job just over a year ago but they kept the forms but i will do one for my registration soon anyway.

Thank you in advance for all your help. :)

sarah707
20-01-2014, 06:13 PM
This factsheet will give you all the information you need :D

Ofsted | Factsheet: childcare - Registration not required (http://www.ofsted.gov.uk/resources/factsheet-childcare-registration-not-required)

shelli1987
20-01-2014, 06:36 PM
thank you ive read all of this but what im wondering is on thi sstatement: