PDA

View Full Version : Giving notice to one family to accommodate another?

HTSMumma
03-01-2014, 10:45 AM
I there,
I'm very new to childminding (started in September) and I have a dilemma that I could really use some advice on from experienced childminders.

I have been caring for a child since September who has been with me three days a week. From this month, she'll only be with me two days a week.
I have a baby of my own who takes up a space too.
I've had an enquiry for two siblings to start three days a week from April. If I took the siblings on they'd be the lion share of my income but it would mean that I'd have to give notice to the child doing two days a week (the days she does would be two of the same the siblings would do). The child I have at the moment is 3 and will be going to reception in September so I'm only due to have her until then.
My husband has been made redundant so I am the only one generating an income at the moment. In terms of how much the money difference would be, it looks like it'll be over £500 more a month.

With my business head on, it makes total sense to give notice to the first child's family and take on the siblings in April, but the decent person in me is incredibly torn on what to do.

Sorry, this has turned out longer that I envisaged!
Help me experienced childminders! I don't know what to do or how to go about it!

Thanks in advance!

Mummits
03-01-2014, 01:48 PM
Is there any possibility that the current child could move to the other two days? I wouldn't do anything just yet until the new family are definite, but if they do decide to sign up, I would ask the original family if they could swap days. I don't think you need feel bad about suggesting that as you have obviously taken a financial hit to allow them to reduce their hours and I don't suppose they were too worried about that. Flexibility works both ways - time for them to do something to help you out.