PDA

View Full Version : Getting used to being a childminder

Tulip
24-11-2013, 04:40 PM
How long did it take you to get used to being a childminder?
Was it a shock to your system or did you take to it like a duck to water?

loocyloo
24-11-2013, 04:45 PM
I can't really remember! I had been a nanny for 14 years prior to childminding, so for me the only difference was that I was in my own home, and I decided what I did when ( although 99.9% of the time I did that when nannying anyway! :D )

benandjerrys
24-11-2013, 06:13 PM
I've been minding for 4 months now and at first it was novelty but now the thoughts of being alone worker and letting people down if I needed time off is getting to me. It's like a huge responsibility also it's taking over my house even though I have a playroom. I try not to moan because there are soo many positives to this job. I have to accept that it is still new and will be for a while longer yet and it just takes time to adapt.

critch
24-11-2013, 06:56 PM
I love pleasing myself! Simple as that, I had a very senior job with lots of decisions to make, I find it much better making the decisions now that they are for me and only me not a big company!!
I have never looked back since leaving in July and I thought I might miss it, yes I get fed up with the constant housework but I get to do it during the day when the children are sleeping etc rather than when I used to walk through the door at 7pm after leaving the house at 7am!
I get to decide when I want to work in that the contracts are going to be no more than a few years so I see that now I'm into it I know what bits I won't fill again when they leave for school so I will eventually work 4 days and if possible finish at 5.30!

shellbells39
24-11-2013, 07:10 PM