PDA

View Full Version : Afternoon activities?

LadyC
22-11-2013, 12:44 AM
Ok, I've been minding for 18 months, with a very (it seems now) set-in-stone scenario of an activity, snack, activity, story/song time, lunch, nap, school run scenario going on, but now my babies are 2 and a half and no longer napping after lunch. I am running out of activities!! As a result they are doing lots more free-play (which I'm not averse to) but it feels very unstructured and I don't know how to proceed. Does anyone have any ideas of how I can harness the energy that is building?! Left to their own devices, they will role-play to kingdom come, which is lovely but they can get a bit 'squabbly' over the roles (I'd like to introduce more costumes, but am stuck for cost-effective options) We are very mark-making heavy - we have a lovely home-made pen(cil) caddy that comes out from 7am til 7pm but we are 'craft'-light, if that makes sense?! We have glue and scissors in the caddy but they mainly use these on reams and reams of paper as I rarely have enough ideas/recycled materials to do something more 'meaty'. Any advice or ideas for making our afternoons more productive/fun/interesting? I follow blogs such as theimaginationtree and redtedart but always look on them too late to organise materials/the seasons/my mind to engage the children.... Any comments welcome :)

AdeleMarie88
22-11-2013, 07:49 AM
I use Pinterest and they are an amazing source Of activity ideas. Lots of sticking, and using recycled materials. With Xmas on the way there are loads you could do. We are just starting to make Xmas paper wreaths, using cereal boxes and old wrapping paper!! Paper plates are also a great tool, you can use them to make snowmen, Christmas window scenes, baubles, and so on... We made a lovely weather sign yesterday that I found on Pinterest,

http://pinterest.com/pin/323977766915321637/

Gillian Haywood
22-11-2013, 08:10 AM