PDA

View Full Version : New and Confused!

Naomiloveheart
31-10-2013, 12:05 AM
Hi everyone!

Just wondering if anyone can help me!

I have decided after years of dreaming that it could finally be the right time to start childminding!

I have been working with children for around 10 years in a nursery environment and have an NVQ3 in Childcare, learning and development and a degree in Early Childhood Studies. I have also got various courses, such as, safeguarding. However, these are for a county council I know longer live in.

I have looked up 'how to be a childminder' and google throws rather a lot of information at me!

I sort of get the general idea but I have no idea where the starting point is.

Going back to basics, whats the first thing(s) I need to do before I even consider child minding!? Is there a course I need to complete? Also, do I need other qualifications etc? Literally an info would be fab as I cannot figurer this out!!

Thank you in advance :)

Rick
31-10-2013, 08:22 AM
Hi and welcome :waving:

You've come to the right place for help!

Have a look at this thread which should answer your questions. Yes you will need to do a local authority course regardless of any other qualifications

http://www.childmindinghelp.co.uk/forum/starting-childminding-pre-registration-visits/117176-registering-childminder.html

Bumble Beez
31-10-2013, 08:27 AM
Good morning...and welcome to the forum :waving:
The link that MTK007 has given you is fantastic and should help answer a lot of questions...
I would suggest contacting your LA and asking them directly about courses and the registration process.
Good luck, and keep us posted with how you're getting on :thumbsup:

fione
31-10-2013, 08:59 PM