PDA

View Full Version : Care to learn advice needed

kel1983
21-10-2013, 07:38 PM
Hi all

I have just been approached by a college student who is starting back after half term. She was given our details and luckily we have the space.
She receives childcare payments through care to learn. This is new for us. I have done a bit of research and see they pay for holidays etc.
In the pass we have had contracts for term time only but is it worth doing half fees to hold space open during hols. Also at present we charge half fees for non attended hours. Is it ok to change the rules with his one and still charge full fees if non attended. We've cared for a lo whose mum attended college before and she wouldn't turn up some days and was paid through student finances to then pay us. Don't wanna get caught out again.

I would love to hear from anyone who uses care to learn or has had experience with this.

Thanks in advance

shortstuff
22-10-2013, 04:49 AM
Sorry I have no experience of this. Just wanted to say hope it all goes ok for you x

Kerry30
22-10-2013, 06:21 AM
I had experience of care to learn a few years ago. Personally i wouldnt use them again but havimg said that i think they were new then and ive since heard they are alot better now. Hope it goes well for you.

hectors house
22-10-2013, 06:28 AM
I had a young mum who was funded through Care to Learn and had no problems at all - I didn't make any changes to my normal practice eg: charged for meals, half fee for holidays etc - can't remember now if I averaged it out over the year or if I told them each week how much was due, all I remember was I did get paid (it was about 5 years ago). Mine was a contract from Sept to July so obviously I couldn't charge them anything for the summer holiday as the contract had ended July.

rickysmiths
22-10-2013, 07:43 AM