PDA

View Full Version : Concern about a babysitter

teacakepenguin
14-10-2013, 01:42 PM
I work part time in a shop and a lady came in today to put an advert up in the window (she's paid for the advert to be displayed) offering her services as a cleaner, to do ironing, and as a babysitter.

I am concerned as I know this lady, she comes in the shop regularly, and she's obviously got some sort of mental health issues. She often talks to herself, she's been really nice one moment then she turns and is really agressively snappy with staff, and we think she suffers from delusions. She came in one day repeatedly buying more and more fizzy drinks, she kept saying it was for her and her boyfriend. This lady is probably in her 60s and she's always on her own, as she was that day. All the ladies who work there know to keep an eye on her when she comes in and to be very wary of her, she is just someone that alarm bells ring when you are with her.

I am really quite concerned that someone might leave their child with her, as I honestly don't think she should be in charge of someone else's children. Obviously as a babysitter you don't need to have any sort of background check. I spoke to the shop owner who agreed with my concerns, but we weren't sure what to do. I wish I could have refused putting her advert up but I couldn't think of what to say to her on the spur of the moment.

I'm not sure what to do, I feel I can't do nothing, what if someone does use her as a babysitter and something goes wrong? But who should I talk to? The local police community officer?

Thanks
Jx

scottishlass
14-10-2013, 03:14 PM
Sounds like you are right to be concerned although not sure what best advice would be tbh. Could you just take her card down and pretend it's been misplaced? Sure someone will be along shortly with better advice! Xx

Mrs Scrubbit
14-10-2013, 03:29 PM