PDA

View Full Version : Epilepsy - Need some guidance

Pedagog
15-07-2008, 09:00 AM
Hi all, not entirely childminding related, but I will have loco -parentis of this child. I run a youth group and last night agreed to take on a new child, he has Epilepsy, ADHD and Autistic traits. Well the autism and ADHD we are used too a lot of our members fall in to these categories. But epilepsy is something I have little experience of.
This young man has a VNS (Vagus Nerve Stimulation) fitted and I will at some point be receiving training in this.

Does anybody have any advice or personal experience of this?

Thanks

emmadines
15-07-2008, 09:17 AM
all I was ever told to do was to place the person having a fit into the recovery position (do not place anything in the mouth especually fingers (to stop swallowing of tongue) as you could loose your fingers)and allow the fit to finish, some are on supositories (sp?) if they dont stop fitting but not all (and you would have to be trained to use them.

other then that I think it was after 2-5 mins of constant fitting call the amberlance...

hope that helps?

Pedagog
15-07-2008, 09:37 AM
Thanks for that, Apparently since having his VNS fitted he has not had any major fits, so hopefully shouldn't be a problem.

lavenderrose
27-07-2008, 09:00 AM