PDA

View Full Version : Positivity needed!

BabyCariad
30-09-2013, 07:04 PM
Hello, I am a newbie here :)

I have just booked into my region's next Pre-reg information session - I am very seriously considering becoming a childminder. I have two children, aged 7 months and 5 years, and will be giving up a job in pharmaceuticals. I love being with children and I think I can offer a really good, fun setting here. I'm also really fascinated by child development and learning.

I'm really excited about my new venture, but I have been disappointed by the reactions of almost everyone who I have mentioned it to. Everyone seems to focus on the negative points and are baffled by why I want to trade a well-paid job in science for one in childcare (even though I am currently bringing home less than £1000/month due to childcare costs).

I have researched the good and the bad about childminding and discussed them all with my husband. We are prepared for me to earn a lot less money, we are prepared for parts of our home to be taken over by childminding 'stuff', we know there will be A LOT of paperwork and many hours spent in the evenings completing it, we are prepared for awkward parents, late payments, and uncertain times while I'm trying to fill places.

Despite all these, I am trying to focus on the good things that childminding will bring - helping to guide and develop the children in my care, providing the type of service that I so struggled to find in this area when I went back to work, the opportunity to be at home for my children and pick my daughter up from school every day, and the opportunity to work for myself.

I'm looking for some positivity please?! This is a good idea, right?!!! I don't know why I am letting other people's reactions get to me so much, perhaps I'm just wobbling because it's not all concrete in my brain yet!

Thank you!

Little_steps
30-09-2013, 07:26 PM