PDA

View Full Version : Feeling dispondant - Please reassure me!!

Sooz2405
06-09-2013, 10:32 AM
Hi everyone, I am new to this and a relatively new childminder. I look after a 10 month old little boy and a 3 year old boy. I used to have a 16 month year old boy too, his mother was really happy with the care I provided and her son thrived but he was young, accident prone and had not been walking long and bumped a lot, his mum was fully understanding of this as he did at home too and was never an issue. However she had a court custody hearing with the boys dad and he brought up how he seemed to bump a lot while at the childminders, I was very upset as I really cared for the boy and even though nothing ever came of it and his mum was fully supportive of me it has left me very paranoid. The baby I have now is pulling himself up on furniture, crawing and climbing and also bumps a lot - as do all babies of that age and as did my own son! Two days ago he slipped in the travel cot and his bottom teeth cut his top lip a little - I called mum to let her know and she was worried but didnt collect him and I reassured he was fine and had gone to sleep. When she collected him yesterday she was worried about a couple of bruises especially as he had a health visit appointment also, I reassured her it was all normal for his age, and asked if she would rather I strapped him into a chair so he couldnt explore and learn or have him have a few bump and bruises while he plays and learns?! She understood but I have been left feeling so worried and then this morning the 3 year old boy was dropped off and as I am good friends with his mum (were friends anyway) and her son is friends with, she told me that he didnt want to come here this morning as '*my son* does weird things'... now I watch them play and my son can be a bit bossy but they play so happily together all day and never any issues. (this boy can be attention seeking as an only child with only his mum around) Needless to say I am