PDA

View Full Version : Hand washing & nappy changing

Miss freckles
06-09-2013, 08:09 AM
Ok, so at the moment I have a one year old, and two 19 mth olds, two of them are new and as I'm awaiting my first graded inspection I need to make sure I'm doing everything by the Ofsted rules and regulations having worked in schools I know how picky they can be.

So hand washing am I meant to take all three upstairs to wash their hands, my one yr old doesn't walk one of my others still needs support when walking and the other screams whenever we go upstairs or in the garden!! Or would it be reasonable to have a bowl of warm soapy water to wash hands or would Ofsted frown upon this?

Also same kind of question for nappy changes, do I have to take all three upstairs to change one in the bathroom or can I do it downstairs?

I'm new to the younger ones even though I have my own children and nephews its all so different as there is so many guidelines to follow.

If anyone can offer some advice I'd really appreciate it so I know I'm doing the right thing for my inspection

Thanks

clareelizabeth1
06-09-2013, 08:57 AM
You can use a bowl to wash their hands, just risk assess for spillage.

Nappies can also be done downstairs again just risk assess and do it if possible in an area where they are given some privacy but you can still keep an ear on the others.

Samantha_j41
06-09-2013, 08:59 AM
I had my inspection last week, however im in scotland

I have a changing mat, i use gloves and apron and after each use i use a anti bacterial wipe on mat. Scswis approved of this.

Handwashing i do in kitchen sink, sorry but there is no way i would be taking my 3 under 3 upstairs, to wash hands.

Goatgirl
06-09-2013, 09:58 AM
I have heard conflicting advice about Ofsted's view on the bowl of soapy water: as its shared, children will spread germs/ bacteria in the water etc. But I can't set up or be bothered to mess about with refilling separate bowls for each child downstairs.