PDA

View Full Version : Feeling deflated

kimskiddies
02-09-2013, 07:37 PM
What a day :((

I absolutely love childminding but the last week or so I have been feeling very down and stressed with it all.
I wonder if maybe it's the school hols as I am completely full all holidays but I'm worried that I'm loosing heart with it.
I'm just about to start my level 3 in childcare but I'm scared that it won't make me feel better, please help with any suggestions u may have.
I have been childminding for 7 yrs now and have loved every minute until now.
Thanks in advance
Kim x
@ Kim's kiddies xx

loocyloo
02-09-2013, 08:38 PM
hi there, sounds to me as if you are just exhausted.

when its the holidays I am always shattered because the older mindees seem to need something all the time, where as the LO either nap or have quiet time, or can play quietly aound me whilst I sit down for 20 mins!

I really enjoyed my level 3 and you will be great. take it one week at a time and relax. are you doing it in a classroom setting? I really enjoyed meeting up with other childminders and sharing the joys and tribulations of the job.

can you take 10/15/20 mins out each evening to go for a walk on your own to clear your head, or do something you enjoy just for you. I go dancing once a week and sing in a choir that meets every other week. I find when I'm out at these activities I can't think about work and have to totally concentrate on what I am doing, which is as good as a rest! as when i'm home, i'm always thinking of things I need to do!

take care, hugs x

hectors house
02-09-2013, 09:25 PM
I really enjoyed my level 3 - I met some lovely like minded people who were passionate about their jobs and improving their knowledge. The summer holidays are hard - I don't even take on school children but I find the change in routine, lack of toddler groups, children coming and going on holiday very unsettling - I will be glad to get back to a toddler group tomorrow (and have a little adult company).