PDA

View Full Version : new childminder

kellyjef
14-08-2013, 02:39 PM
Hi all
Im a new childminder and the little one i look after came with a cold which was fine. By the afternoon she was couging non stop for over two hour which was making her cry and gag. She has a pump sometimes and was off a few weeks withe same thing. I could not find her pump so i called the parent to see if there was something she was meant to have. The parent said they had forgot and she would try to leave work early and that the little one is all coughing. The parent made me like i was in the wrong for calling. As i am new to this was i wrong should i have just waited till they collected her and then tell them she has been coughing that badly.

Mrsh3103
14-08-2013, 04:29 PM
I would have called the parents too. Poor thing :(

If she normally has a pump ask the parents to get a spare one to keep at your house. That way it's never forgotten!

lizduncan72
14-08-2013, 04:32 PM
I would have phoned too and probably told mum to come collect if little one was that bad. Poor wee thing :(

thills
14-08-2013, 04:51 PM
I would of called too. Unfortunately parents nearly always make u feel like you were wrong to call, misty because its a pain to them, and not because they actually don't think u should have! Chin up u did the right thing

hectors house
14-08-2013, 07:45 PM
Do you mean an inhaler when you say pump? In which case you were completely correct to call the parents - would they prefer you to call from the hospital? - surely if the child was already unwell with a cold, the inhaler should have been the first thing they mentioned when they dropped her off. If they can't remember to send it each day then ask if they can get a spare one on prescription to be kept at your house (just make sure it is in date if you don't have to use it very often) and get the parent to sign a form in your medicine book about long term use of medicine.

kellyjef
14-08-2013, 07:52 PM
Hi