PDA

View Full Version : Night terrors and night walking?

Gem wright
07-08-2013, 08:44 PM
Had a Mum talk to me today about her two year old daughter. She is so very worried about her night terrors and sleep walking.

Mum doesn't sleep as keeps checking on her daughter, or she sleeps on daughters bedroom floor. I've explained about night terrors are very common in young children and Gould grow out of it. But I have no experience of sleep walking. Sounds dangerous and no wonder why she can't sleep. But I'm worried with how worried Mum is with it all.
I've also advised her to speak to her hv but it sounds like she doesn't have a good relationship with her and she doesn't want to ask her advice, so she's asked me!
Any advice is warmly welcomed :-)

ziggy
07-08-2013, 08:57 PM
my daughter is 23 and has most awful night terrors and she sleep walks.

She often thinks her partner is trying to inject her with poison in her dreams and wakes up hitting him, very scary

They also live on fourth floor with balcony leading from their bedroom, worries me she will fall one night.

Sorry I dont have any advice, it does seem worse when she is stressed. My young grandson has same problem but it doesnt seem to affect his 2 siblings.

I think if i was this mummy I would put stair gate on child's bedroom door and leave door open, it cant be good for mummy not to get proper sleep. We kept stair gate on top of stairs closed every night just in case.

Mouse
07-08-2013, 09:21 PM
Two of my sons used to have night terrors & would often walk downstairs. They didn't ever hurt themselves.

It turned out that one had nocturnal epilepsy, but the other one just had the night terrors. The one with epilepsy grew out of it by the time he was about 8 and the other one stopped getting night terrors when he was 5 and we moved house.

Has your mum spoken to her GP?

charlottenash
07-08-2013, 09:28 PM