PDA

View Full Version : Would you be put off by a young childminder?

SteffiM
04-08-2013, 08:50 PM
Hi all i'm new to this. I've been an observer for a while and thought i'd finally come and say hello. I'm currently a nursery nurse but i'm looking in to doing something slightly different so have been thinking about childminding. My question is would you be put off taking your LO's to a childminder who is young. I'm 21 but i have 5 years experience, 6 months in a school, 6 months in a maintained nursery, 6 months in a daycare ( all 3 of these were part time work placements) and then i have worked for the 3 and half years in a private nursery and am currently 3rd in Charge. I understand some parents could be put of due to my age but i'm hoping this could work to my advantage too maybe, and would you think differently after hearing my experience? So basically looking for opinions?

Thanks in advance.

Rick
04-08-2013, 08:53 PM
I don't think it matters how old you are. Parents will be more concerned that you will take good care of their children. And yes some parents may see youth as an advantage :thumbsup:

Supernanny86
04-08-2013, 09:07 PM
I'm not a childminder I'm a nanny, but my family im with now chose me (26yrs old) to look after their year old twins over someone who is 10 years older. I don't think age should factor in, surely it's more to do with whether they think you're suitable for their child/ren or not??!

Good luck, :) x

Mouse
04-08-2013, 09:07 PM
I don't think age comes into it.

Experience is a huge advantage if you're young or have no children of your own (not sure if you have) and it sounds as if you've got loads of that!

sing-low
04-08-2013, 09:58 PM