PDA

View Full Version : Right little madam!!!! Rrrgh

donna porter
01-08-2013, 05:52 AM
I've been minding a lo for two years now and boy is she hard work! I don't even know where to start!!! I can just about handle the fussy eating and the meltdowns over nothing but it's the way she's so rough with my daughter who has just turned 3. She's always nipping her, pushing her and yesterday she just slapped her really hard in the face!!! It was done in a playful way but she just seems have no empathy or thoughts for others. Even when she says sorry it has no meaning. My own children do lash out but I can tell they feel bad about it. This little girl seems to be thinking about what toy she can get next !

Bumble Beez
01-08-2013, 07:06 AM
Read this just the other day...
Empathy is both genetically determined and a learned skill. The development of empathy begins very early in life. The seeds for empathy are planted by responsive parenting during the infant/toddler period. Empathy then begins to grow during pre-school. However, it is during the primary school years that empathy either takes root and becomes a way of life or emotional callousness sets in. Empathetic teens really blossom and give joy to those around them. Teens that lack empathy are like thorny bushes– you try to avoid them!

Try to do a bit of work on emotions with LO...talking about how others feel when she lashes out and when she is kind.

Not knowing how old LO is...maybe try this activity
SEEING: FLASH CARDS (http://kempa-zblog.blogspot.co.uk/2010/04/flash-cards.html)

Also a good book is 'All kinds of feelings' by Emma Brownjohn :thumbsup:

donna porter
01-08-2013, 07:19 AM
Read this just the other day...