PDA

View Full Version : Register with Chief Fire Officer?

Newtochildcare
28-07-2013, 07:09 PM
Hi,

I feel really silly asking as I feel I should know this, :blush: especially as I am so close now....(got my pre reg next week! :panic:) But do I need to have a visit from the chief fire officer to ensure my home is fire safe?

Thanks

Claire

Rick
28-07-2013, 07:10 PM
I haven't had to do that. You shouldn't need to :thumbsup:

Bumble Beez
28-07-2013, 07:19 PM
I have never had a visit done and I've been minding for eight years :)

Sarah x

Daisy De
28-07-2013, 07:24 PM
Never had that in 20 years, it's not a requirement is it?

Newtochildcare
28-07-2013, 07:28 PM
Thanks for replying everyone. Well, that's what I thought, but I was talking to a friend of mine, who remembered that when she had an appointment with her sons childminder, the appointment was cancelled because she had a meeting with the fire officer?? I've also just ordered my fire blanket - am I right in thinking that I don't need an extinguisher too? x

Bumble Beez
28-07-2013, 07:35 PM
I don't have an extinguisher...I was told that its not necessary plus you have different colours for different types of fires ect... and as long as we have a fire blanket all is good!!

Sarah x

FussyElmo
28-07-2013, 07:39 PM
No you don't but you can request a safety check from the fire brigade. They will come to your house if you are really lucky in the fire engine and offer fire safety advice :thumbsup:

No you don't need a fire extinguisher - remember if the you need to use one the advice is to get out and ring the fire brigade to deal with it :thumbsup:

mpullen17387
28-07-2013, 07:40 PM
It is not compulsory!.. But you can ask them to come out and plan an evacuation procedure for you, however they can charge for this.. You will have to have your evacuation policy already for pre reg so you don't need it, good luck with visit.. I have mine on Tuesday xxx

KaicosMummy
28-07-2013, 08:26 PM