PDA

View Full Version : When a family is lovely but just doesn't work?

MrsP2C
09-05-2013, 01:04 PM
I've been caring for siblings for 4 months now and there's a few niggles that are bothering me and I'd appreciate some honest views as to whether I'm being too fussy & should be grateful for nice kids/family, or, bite the bullet and move on or perhaps something constructive I can do to address some/all of the issues.

1. One of my DC really doesn't get on with the older mindee. They are both at school in the day so it's only the time before & after school but they can barely be in the same room for 5 minutes without bickering & it's driving me insane!!! Holiday's are particularly difficult & I'm finding myself booking DC into activities to get him out the house on the days this mindee is here which isn't fair or cost effective!

2. The youngest mindee (baby) is extraordinarily clingy. I've posted about it before & just when I think we've turned a corner I'm back with child clutching me all day or crying to be picked up. It's when I look after another mindee of the same age that I realise how much harder this one is & physically & emotionally it's quite draining.

3. Fees- I cut my fees because at the time I was desperate for business but now I'm turning away enquiries almost every week & kicking myself that for the same hours I could be earning £150 a month more!!

Parents are lovely, pay on time etc, children well-mannered, eat OK etc so I'm really loathe to let them go (plus no idea what I'd tell them as I'd them fill the space with much the same hours) but every weeks these issues bother me & I'd like some resolution if not with the family then at least in my own mind.
Any thoughts?

kellyskidz!
09-05-2013, 01:08 PM
Can you afford to lose 3 siblings who's parents pay on time? I think you're lucky!