PDA

View Full Version : Going to briefing in a few weeks. My son has autism.

aella851
08-05-2013, 10:34 PM
Hi

I'm going on a briefing to find out more about being a childminder. I have 2 children age 12 and 9. My 9 year old has high functioning autism do you think this would cause a problem to get registered? He goes to mainstream school. At the moment I am. I run a craft club at a school. Used to take care of my friends kids after school twice a week. I'm currently studying open uni understanding children and young people module. I don't have a lot of confidence that I be good at his but I am very patient and calm. I'm 33 this year and want to earn my own money, also improve my credit rating etc.

Anyway I'm new to this site

Angela

tulip0803
09-05-2013, 07:53 AM
Hello and welcome:D

There are many childminders who have children with special needs. The experiences that you have bringing up your own children and running a craft club in school will be very useful and you will gain confidence. You already have special needs experience of autism.

You need to ensure that both your children are able to cope with( and understand why) a succession of children coming into their home. A lot of children have problems with this and sharing their Mum. My son was 7 when I started childminding and liked some children and really did not like others it was very obvious. I do not use my upstairs for childminding so that my children still have their own space and bolt holes when things get too much. I do not use their toys for childminding without their permission again they are theirs and I respect that.

If you are calm, patient with lots of enthusiasm you already have lots of the qualifications that childminders need. Hopefully you will decide that childminding is for you when you have been to briefing. Any questions and just come back here.

Good luck x

Beaka
09-05-2013, 08:05 AM