PDA

View Full Version : Am I expecting too much from parent of my first mindee?

sarahb1985
15-04-2013, 08:55 PM
I'm still pretty new to childminding, I became registered in February, so i'm just wondering if I'm expecting too much.

I've been very lucky in that my mindee (14 months) is so happy, easy going and I really enjoy looking after her.

Settling in was very simple and easy and Ive always looked forward to seeing her.

However, so far (4 weeks) I have never known the exact time I will be looking after her, even though we have a contract!!
The contract states 8am-4:30pm 2 days a week. Each time I have been up, ready, had my 4 year old ready and toys set up then recieved a text saying she will be here at 10:30/11. So we wait in, unable to go anywhere, trying to keep activities ready when my 4yr old wants to play etc. Then we are enjoying ourselves/out on a trip and the mother texts saying she is coming to pick up mindee early!! I never know what to plan, am fed up of getting up early to arrange everything nicely etc and I just feel messed about!!

I am waiting to hear whether the mindee is even coming this week and the contract states 8am tomorrow!!

Then of course there's paperwork and fees!!
Struggling to do starting points as hardly see the mindee properly!
And fees have been all over the place already! One week I had mindee for about a quarter of the contracted hours and I felt so terrible keeping all the money that I refunded half! I know I didn't have to but I felt I should for some reason. Even though we have a contract I don't feel secure at all!
I even find myself half hoping she will give notice as I feel like she doesn't even want a childminder :/ sorry for the negativity I think I was expecting things to be more simple...

jo.jo76
15-04-2013, 09:02 PM