PDA

View Full Version : diarrhea or not?

toddlers896
15-04-2013, 05:46 PM
Sorry to be rude, I hope you are not eating dinner while reading this but how do I tell if a child has diarrhea or not.

One of my mindees is nearly two and I have never seen a normal poo. It is always very runny and ime not sure if this is normal for a young child or not. I don't have any kids of my own so I have had no experience with this. On Friday her poo was green and it made the skin of her bottom bleed. I cant say to mum ime not having her because her poos are always runny so what do you think?
:ohdear:

Rick
15-04-2013, 06:06 PM
Sorry to be rude, I hope you are not eating dinner while reading this but how do I tell if a child has diarrhea or not.

One of my mindees is nearly two and I have never seen a normal poo. It is always very runny and ime not sure if this is normal for a young child or not. I don't have any kids of my own so I have had no experience with this. On Friday her poo was green and it made the skin of her bottom bleed. I cant say to mum ime not having her because her poos are always runny so what do you think?
:ohdear:

Very topical subject. Was changing DS's nappy at 4 this morning. His has been almost watery in consistency, very little, if any solids and light brown in colour. He normally has solid poos, occasionally a bit less solid if he has drunk a lot that day.

Does your LO drink quite a lot? If not then it doesn't sound normal. But it certainly doesn't sound like diarrhoea.

Again apologise if anyone's eating a watery, light brown dinner tonight :doh:

funemnx
15-04-2013, 06:58 PM
I think some children just seem to have runny poo. A couple of my lo's have never had anything other than runny. I think the difference is that with diarrhea it is very frequent? I sometimes wonder if there is a food intolerence....

MessybutHappy
15-04-2013, 07:11 PM
Lovely topic!!