PDA

View Full Version : Parents signing my registeir

Glitter
13-04-2013, 09:06 PM
Hello,
I have read on some post recently that some childminders get parents to sign thier registeirs.
I am worried that I don't do this!
Is this a requirement of the EYFS, and why do parents sign it?
Thank you for any help you can give.
I am still new to childminding and Ofsted will be coming to do my first inspection soon and I want to get everything right.

Ripeberry
13-04-2013, 09:19 PM
I haven't done this for years! It's to do with confirming hours. I send a bill out each month with the hours and if paid it means that they agreed with them :thumbsup:

jo.jo76
13-04-2013, 09:24 PM
This is something I've never been sure of either. I don't get them to sign, but have heard people say you are supposed to. Ofsted didn't question me on it when I had my inspection

CLL
13-04-2013, 09:30 PM
If you use the NCMA register book there is a space for parental signature. Because it is there I get it signed but I do not think it is a requirement.

JumpingJacks
13-04-2013, 09:36 PM
Mine just sign a monthly sheet agreeing times for invoice.

step11
13-04-2013, 09:40 PM
When I had my inspection she looked at my register and said it should be signed. Everyone says something diff

Houlgated
13-04-2013, 09:50 PM
I use the ncma one and try to get parents to sign it but they drop off in a hurry on the morning and I hand child over to granny at school so it hasn't been singed for months, my inspection is overdue so I really ought to get it up to date just in case I have a fussy inspector

tashaleee
13-04-2013, 09:51 PM
EYFS from September clause 3.75 states

Providers must hold the following documentation:

A daily record of the names of the children being cared for on the premises, their hours of attendance

I dont think it said this on the old EYFS so I would take it that we do now have to get it signed and it has to be exact hours which might be different from the hours you get paid for :thumbsup: