PDA

View Full Version : Employee in same tax year as starting cm- tax payable?

MrsP2C
07-04-2013, 11:24 PM
I've just finished my end of year accounts for cm from when I started 5th nov - 31st March and have a nett profit of c.£3k. This is obviously well under the threshold for tax liability but I was employed until September & earned c£16k paying £2.7k tax this (12/13) tax year.

I've never done a self-assessment before so apologies if all will become obvious when I come to submit my form, but how on earth do I calculate my tax liability in a year I was both employed & self-employed and any ideas whether I will be paying the full 20% of my £3k nett profit or could it end up being a lot more?!

Nicola Carlyle
08-04-2013, 06:23 AM
I may be wrong but your employement doesn't count really and you have already paid your tax on those earnings. Because you have provided your NI number the tax man can see this. I'd say you may even get a little tax rebate. I'm sure someone else may be able to clarify it a bit better.

jo.jo76
08-04-2013, 07:30 AM
When you fill in the tax return online there will be somewhere you fill about earning from employment. Not sure how it will affect your tax though

MrAnchovy
08-04-2013, 09:08 AM
I've just finished my end of year accounts for cm from when I started 5th nov - 31st March and have a nett profit of c.£3k. This is obviously well under the threshold for tax liability but I was employed until September & earned c£16k paying £2.7k tax this (12/13) tax year.

I've never done a self-assessment before so apologies if all will become obvious when I come to submit my form, but how on earth do I calculate my tax liability in a year I was both employed & self-employed and any ideas whether I will be paying the full 20% of my £3k nett profit or could it end up being a lot more?!