PDA

View Full Version : pay for settling in period

Carolc
30-03-2013, 12:49 PM
Hi I'm new to childminding and just wondering if anybody charged for a mindees settling in period. I have one wee boy one day a week and he will be settling next week. Xx

LauraS
30-03-2013, 04:02 PM
I don't, but only.offer a few sessions of a couple of hours or so.

Sally69
30-03-2013, 04:07 PM
I'm new too :) I start properly on Tuesday, but offered 1 x 1hour and 2 x 2hour settling in sessions for free. If the parents want more then they will be charged at usual rate.

Carol M
30-03-2013, 04:14 PM
I offer settling in sessions with parent for free but not unlimited. I charge £5 for each 2 hour session that the child is left with me ( if i have the space).
Carol xx

JoRo163
30-03-2013, 04:20 PM
I do one 2 hour settling in session free of charge. If parents want more then they pay the hourly rate. Though nobody has taken this up - I've found that one session is generally enough.

cathtee
30-03-2013, 04:31 PM
I offer 2 x 2hr settling in sessions for free and have never been asked for more than that.

The Juggler
30-03-2013, 04:36 PM
I offer 2 x 2hr settling in sessions for free and have never been asked for more than that.

i offer the same. parents starting in september have sometimes asked for the odd day before the summer holidays so I hve charged in full for that day :thumbsup:

mummyMia
30-03-2013, 04:37 PM
I normally offer three 2 hour sessions for free. If I was taking on a child for only one day a week then I would probably cut this down to two sessions. :)

tulip0803
30-03-2013, 05:10 PM
I also offer two free settling in sessions of two hours before the contract starts fully.

I then have a 4 week settling in period once the contract has started, at normal fees, where the normal 4 week notice period does not apply to either me or them to cancel the care.

Chimps Childminding
30-03-2013, 06:17 PM