PDA

View Full Version : query - driving

claire'scherubs
26-03-2013, 08:39 PM
Hi all, big apologises for not posting for a while, been hibernating for the winter

Quick question, a childminder has just passed her driving test, is she allowed to drive children around for a fee, whilst in her probationary period?

And any ideas how/who would insure her

Thanks

mummyMia
26-03-2013, 09:58 PM
I passed my driving test last year and I was able to take mindees in the car straight away. I got my insurance through insurethebox.com. I had quotes from lots of companies and they all came in at over £3000 because I was a new driver!!! Insure the box quoted about £1500 so I went with that. They didn't charge any extra for business use. I just got my renewal a few weeks ago and it has gone down to around £400 for this year. :clapping: I can't believe what a difference one years no claims discount has made. :D

cathtee
26-03-2013, 10:31 PM
just asked hubby who is a driving instructor and he says there was talk about new drivers not being able to carry passengers for a certain period of time but it
hasn't come into force, you could check on the dsa website and ask the question on there to be on the safe side. I have business insurance and
can use our car for carrying mindees.

When you say drive children round for a fee do you mean charge extra for doing it or as being paid to look after children?

claire'scherubs
26-03-2013, 10:46 PM
just asked hubby who is a driving instructor and he says there was talk about new drivers not being able to carry passengers for a certain period of time but it
hasn't come into force, you could check on the dsa website and ask the question on there to be on the safe side. I have business insurance and
can use our car for carrying mindees.

When you say drive children round for a fee do you mean charge extra for doing it or as being paid to look after children?

Sorry yes I meant as part of the childminding fee

Kiddleywinks
27-03-2013, 06:14 AM