PDA

View Full Version : Ratios

cbshoat
25-02-2013, 02:48 PM
Hi
I am new to childminding and under the impression that the current rations are 6 under 8's with a max of 3 under 5 and a max of thse 3 to be under 1.

Is this correct?

I know of many childminders who have 5 or 6 2 and three year ols at once and its confusing me

Christine

Wheelybug
25-02-2013, 03:10 PM
I think you missed out one of your number ones :-) , You are right its a maximum of 6 children under 8 at any one time. Of these 3 can be under 5 and of these 3, '1' can be under 1.

You can care for more children under 5 if you have a variation. The only reasons you can vary your numbers are to take on siblings of children already in your care or to provide continuity for children already in your care - say for example a parent has their days at work changed and they ask you to take their child on a day that you already have 3 children. You can vary your numbers to do this, as the child is already in your care, but you need to let parents know and carry out a risk assessment to ensure you can still meet all the children's needs. Saying that though,even if you vary your numbers you still can't go over 6 under 8 at any one time. This might be why the other childminders have so many. I have 4 on a thursday under 5 because one of my parents changed their hours at work.

Hope this helps and doesn't confuse you even more!

jillplum
25-02-2013, 03:11 PM
Yes that ratio is correct BUT in certain circumstances and for existing children or siblings of existing children you can grant yourself a variation.

cbshoat
27-02-2013, 02:45 PM
Yes that ratio is correct BUT in certain circumstances and for existing children or siblings of existing children you can grant yourself a variation.