PDA

View Full Version : Experiences cms have you noticed a change in the way children play over the years?

nipper
20-02-2013, 08:03 AM
I'm interested in how children learn to play and was wondering if any of the more experienced childminders (with 10 years plus) experience have noticed a change in their mindees ability to play, especially with all this increase in technology with ipads, televisions and phones etc. Also with regard to parents being 'busier' these days (sorry I say that tongue in cheek).
I realise this doesn't apply to all children but for example when I used to be a teacher I realised that some children spent less time reading which had a considerable impact on their literacy skills, especially writing.

mama2three
20-02-2013, 08:24 AM
Im not so experienced but have dipped in and out for 20 years or so!
I think as a generalisation children dont have the same skills , but do have a whole new set! They may struggle for example to do a jigsaw puzzle by hand , with the dexterity and puzzle solving skills , but give them the same puzzle on the ipad they would be fine! The ability to 'problem solve' is still at the same level , but the way it is learned has changed.
More and more children seem to need to be 'taught' to play , they are so used to having the telly and their gadgets that they struggle to entertain themselves without them.

miffy
20-02-2013, 08:32 AM
Im not so experienced but have dipped in and out for 20 years or so!
I think as a generalisation children dont have the same skills , but do have a whole new set! They may struggle for example to do a jigsaw puzzle by hand , with the dexterity and puzzle solving skills , but give them the same puzzle on the ipad they would be fine! The ability to 'problem solve' is still at the same level , but the way it is learned has changed.