PDA

View Full Version : Anyone NOT do before and after school?

lisbet
15-02-2013, 04:08 PM
I'm just starting out and I was thinking of not offering before/after school care, just early years care between 7.30am -5.30pm because:

a) I'm new to childminding and I want to make sure I don't take on too much and compromise care
b) My 3 children (age 12, 9 and 6) will be adjusting to having mindees in their home and I want to be able to still be there for them as much as I can.

I'm signed up to do 1 enhanced provision placement which would probably be in school hours, which does mean that I *could* offer 1 early years before/after slot without adding to numbers.

Someone's just phoned asking for before/ after school for 1 infant school child and 1 nursery child and I explained I don't offer that at this time and now I feel mean :blush: and I'm also worried that I'm being unrealistic business wise?

Also don't want to get a bad reputation as inflexible...

What would you all advise?

ziggy
15-02-2013, 04:13 PM
I dont. I just find it isnt worth the hassle of doing school run in middle of afternoon while younger ones are resting. Financially it isnt worth it either.

I have one starting school in september and will do it for him as i will have his 2 younger brothers but wouldnt take it on otherwise.

Dont feel bad for refusing, it is your business and that is the good point of being self employed, being able to choose

moggy
15-02-2013, 04:14 PM