PDA

View Full Version : just read this on fb and this is why we must fight the more great childcare

FussyElmo
13-02-2013, 07:04 AM
Not for the ratios, not for agencies, not for the startiong school at 2 but for the children. As she said the children because they have too not because they want too.

I received this moving testimony from a childcare worker in an EU country I would have considered forward thinking. It is moving to read and tells us, we (the UK) lead the way with our ratios…the government should be celebrating our best practice, not looking longingly abroad….She has asked me to keep her country and name anonymous…

My name is xxx and I am a nursery teacher working in xxx.
I follow your Facebook page and I really enjoy when I see things your kids do and how you work. Congratulations!

Few weeks ago I saw an article you shared, “Nursery plan will let each career look after six children”. My first thoughts on that were “Wow! Way to go, England!”, but then I started to read it and realized that your actual ratio is 4:1!! I was amazed because, well, here in xxx we are far from that (I work in a private nursery with kids aged 2 and we are two teachers and 20 toddlers, which by the way is considered a luxury because there are nurseries with 20:1 ratio) and having 6 kids to take care for sounds science fiction to me. Yes, we manage well and our children are happy and we love them, but I don't think we can offer every child an individual approach they deserve and that makes me so sad, sometimes even wanting to quit.
I don't want to talk badly about xxx, it's not a hell for kids and there are so many wonderful things people do here for our little ones, but I think the public system should give more support to kids of all ages and especially to those aged 0 – 3, and one of the first steps should be lower ratios, like in England now.