PDA

View Full Version : Retainer fee & pregnancy? Parent enquiry

bigred
01-02-2013, 08:11 AM
Hi! I was hoping to get advice, I paid 5 months retainer fee to childminder and then she told me she was pregnant. She is keeping my child on but has decided to take 6 weeks off without providing cover.

I have had to take 2 weeks off work so has my partner had to take 2 weeks and then organised for my LO to go to a private nursery (which is far more expensive than what the childminder is) for two weeks. I was wondering where I stand in all this as seems a little unfair?

Any advice would be much appreciated thank you :) x

bunyip
01-02-2013, 09:20 AM
Hmmm, tricky. I guess a lot depends on the contract - and a certain amount of goodwill might not go amiss. Please note I am not a legal expert, so what follows are just my ideas/ramblings and should not be taken as statement of fact or advice. And everything is subject to what's agreed in the contract anyway.

Strictly speaking, a retainer is paid to hold a place open for a child whilst the setting is open. So if the setting is closed, there's not necessarily any cause to charge a retainer.

If your contract includes a holiday period for the childminder (CM) then she should be entitled to take that to cover her maternity needs. Debatable whether or not a retainer would be payable during a holiday closure period.

I would guess that you are probably not entitled to any consequential loss: ie. for the additional costs you may incur - eg. nursery charges.