PDA

View Full Version : Any other non-drivers out there?

helendee
07-01-2013, 11:53 PM
I am just wondering how you manage to get out and about if you don't drive/have a car?

Hubs and I care for six little ones each day but we can't afford to buy an eight seater at the moment so we just take the little ones to the local park and toddler group several times a week.

Is this enough do you think? I get them out as much as possible but because I suffer from rheumatoid arthritis I cannot walk long distances and sometimes I feel guilty that I can't do for more them. xx

vals
08-01-2013, 07:25 AM
I have been minding for 17 years, I only learnt to drive last year, and as yet I have a normal family car, so only used when I haven't got too many children. We are lucky to have train stations very near us, and children travel free of very cheap so we have had some really good days out. Also we live near the sea so often go to the beach. There are some minders who live here and have cars that go out less than I do. As much as its nice to be able to take the children to lots of places, its not a neccessity, I have never had anyone complain about not going out anywhere else.

miffy
08-01-2013, 07:46 AM
I don't drive either and never found it a problem for parents or for getting out with the children, although I've had children who wished I had a car because they are used to being driven everywhere!!

As long as the children are getting outside play (which you're doing) I wouldn't worry. Personally, I think it's better that children walk places and get their exercise that way.

Miffy xx

lilac_dragon
08-01-2013, 08:03 AM
When I've been working, I've had the money for driving lessons but no time, and when there's little or no work I have the time but not the money!

Rural area, buses are now once an hour but when we came here 22 years ago there was one in the morning and one in the evening!