PDA

View Full Version : Accepting sick children

purpletrunks
22-12-2012, 04:08 PM
Hi,

I am new to childminding (started sept) and new to this forum. I have joined todaya s I really need some advice with my current mindee. He is 14 months and since starting has been ill alot, probably at least every 3 weeks. Mostly just colds etc, but on two occasions his temperature spiked above 100, he had two febrile convulsions and he was taken (by parents) to hospital but not admitted. The diagnosis was just viruses.

Because he is ill so much the parents are struggling with the amount of time they are having off work. The past two times he has been ill they have tried to put him in with me, when I have felt he has been too ill to come. My EY consultant has said that he should not return until he is fully well, but I wonder if this doesn't provide enough flexibility. For example he has had a cough for two weeks but been well in himself in-between.

So this week he came in and mum said he had had a temp in the night, but that they had taken it before they left to come over and it was normal. 15 mins after she left it was 39.7. I couldn't get hold of parents for an hour so just went through the specific instructions they gave me to avoid a convulsion. When I finally got dad he asked that I keep him for another hour to see how the calpol worked. When mum got back to me 20 mins later she insisted that they came straight away. He was still ill the following day but late that evening (10pm) I had a text saying that he had played well all day but was still grizzly and still taking calpol to keep his temperature down but they wanted to bring him the following day for a shortened day, and was that ok with me?