PDA

View Full Version : Very basic help needed with obs and planning please!

mamabear
03-12-2012, 08:55 PM
Hello!
I'm not new to childminding, (I've been minding for 8 years now) but need help with the new eyfs as i cant get on a course until feb! I did a course way back when the eyfs first came in, and used to do learning journals when I helped out at preschool a few years back, but I've just taken on a new little girl and need some advice please. I've only had older children since then.
I know I need to plot her progress, and starting point (letting her settle in first and accept my son- see my other post!) but how often should I carry out observations?
What about planning, I've never formally planned before!
Please help!!

sarah707
04-12-2012, 08:15 AM
Starting points - what the child knows / likes / says / can do etc when they first start in your care - ask parents and then add to them with your own observations.

You will probably find you are doing quite a few obs to start with just to make sure you are getting to know the child well... then less as time passes.

I do about 5 obs per month for most of my children - some with photos and some brief notes. My children are all part time, 2 days a week.

Some months I do less because they don't seem to have done much - then all of a sudden they progress in lots of areas very quickly and I find I am writing more!

Hth :D

chriss
04-12-2012, 08:57 AM
What is HTH ? :)

Kiddleywinks
04-12-2012, 08:58 AM
Hope That Helps :thumbsup:

chriss
04-12-2012, 08:59 AM
abd there is another one...somethin like iyswim ??

Kiddleywinks
04-12-2012, 09:04 AM
If You See What I Mean (iyswim)
or
If You Get What I Mean (iygwim)

There's an abbreviation thread here....
http://www.childmindinghelp.co.uk/forum/lounge/38990-forum-abbreviations.html

mamabear
04-12-2012, 10:27 AM
Thanks for your help, but at the moment she doesn't do very much except sit on my lap- shes scared of my son and screams blue murder when I'm not holding her!