PDA

View Full Version : First Report E-mailed - What to do?

kimnolan87
29-11-2012, 06:59 AM
Hi,

As some of you know, I had my first graded inspection a couple of weeks ago. It went quite well and the inspector was lovely.

My report was emailed through to me yesterday and the report itself is fine. Except for one or two issues. First one, there is no mention that I have a level 3 in childcare or that I have 9 years experience! If I was a prospective parent reading this, I'd like to know this about a potential childminder - can I ask for this to be included?

And the next thing, which is quite a biggie - I have been informed, and it crops up a couple of times during the report, that I am in breech of the EYFS, because I have a child who speaks English as an additional language but I do not support her learning her first language!!!!!!! I don't understand the notice and reply slip thingy, and I have until tomorrow to put things into place!!!

Now the child in question is 14 months old, her mum and dad are from Ghana, but they want their daughter to learn English!!!! To them, she is English and that is her first language, not an additional one!!!! On the forms, it states English first as language spoken and then Twi!!!!

I have asked her parents to write down some words in Twi for me to use around the room, and I am looking for a dual language book - although this is proving quite difficult!! I just feel that this would be of no benefit to the child at this moment in time! She is just learning a few English words and I can't speak the language, so how on earth would having random words up, support her any more than I am dping now?!

I really don't want this to jepodise my career, as I am absolutely loving this job!!!

Please help - I need to sort it this morning if possible!!!

Xxx

sarah707
29-11-2012, 07:39 AM
If you don't understand the wording Kim, scan and email or type out and pm it to me and I will look at it for you.