PDA

View Full Version : help! Paint on carpet

kate91
27-09-2012, 09:26 PM
Hi everyone, only just joined as I have big problem and really could do with some friendly help...
I work as a Nanny and recently while playing with the children in my care, a small pot of childrens paint got spilt over the carpet :panic: anyway i cleared it up best i could and obviously told the parents on their return. As they rent their house they don't have contents insurance and have got me to pay for the cleaning. However, the carpet hasn't cleaned up to their/landlords expectations and they are now saying i have to pay for a new carpet. I can't afford to do this and anyway I feel that any mishap in the future will be directed at me to pay for. can anyone offer any helpful comments please:crying:

JCrakers
28-09-2012, 09:36 AM
Oh dear :( I don't really know where you stand on this one. I used to be a nanny but wasn't in your situation.
It's not a good position to be in is it. What happens if something else happened, like the pushchair broke while you we're using it, would they expect you to buy a new one.
I hope someone has some advice. Did you go through an agency for the job? If so, they might offer advice :D

Edited to say that's its their fault actually for not having contents insurance...surely????

I've got contents on mine after my son spilt neat blackcurrant squash on my cream carpet when he was 2. I had to buy a rug to cover the stain.

rickysmiths
28-09-2012, 11:54 AM
Hi everyone, only just joined as I have big problem and really could do with some friendly help...