PDA

View Full Version : Contemplating a career change!

AntoniaS
21-09-2012, 03:00 PM
Hi all! I am currently a veterinary nurse, I work two night shifts a week so I can spend my days with my boys (1&2) Im seriously considering childminding as a new path! I love spending my time with little people, especially outdoors. I do a lot of 'attachment parenting' although I hate the expression! I'd like to offer that to potential families.
I've read a little on what is required to start up, I have not yet found out when/where I might attend the pre-registration course in my area.

I have a couple of questions if anyone wouldn't mind answering?
How long can it take to get registered?
Are the courses hours/days/weeks, I have to consider child care myself!
Would having pets be a problem? I have dogs and cats?

Thanks for any advice!

sgu97alf
21-09-2012, 03:35 PM
Hi there and welcome, I've recently taken the decision to become a childminder and change careers too so just wanted to say hello, I would recommend you contact your Local Authority re the course question as things can vary depending in what area you are in - I know in my area (West Berks) they run the childminding course during saturday daytimes. I phoned them and they dealt with all my questions really well.

Re your pets question provided you risk assess properly and have a procedure in place which covers how you can keep both children and animals cared for in the same setting (things like making sure children can't access animal food, aren't left unattended with animals, wash hands after touching them etc etc) there is no reason why this should be an issue.

HTH.

WibbleWobble
21-09-2012, 03:39 PM
hello antonia!

and welcome to the forum

I have a couple of questions if anyone wouldn't mind answering?
How long can it take to get registered? how long is a piece of string....took me a year but i had to postpone stuff cos of family, some takes only a few months